Mandie and the Secret Tunnel

-Lois Gladys Leppard-


Mandie is convinced that God no longer loves her after her father’s death. After the funeral, her stepmother sends her to go and work for a couple with a new baby. While Mandie loves the baby, the family treats her cruelly. With the help of her Cherokee friends, she escapes to her Uncle John’s, who she had never even heard about before. But when she arrives there, she discovers he recently died overseas and many people are coming to claim their share of his estate. Can Mandie and her friends (and of course, Snowball, the kitten, too) find the real will before it’s too late?
I loved the Mandie series. My church library had them all and it took me almost exactly a year to read them. I like the way they show how trusting in God helps in difficult situations. The theme verse in the series is What time I am afraid I will put my trust in Thee (Psalm 56:3). I like how Mandie is portrayed as a real girl. She is jealous of people and often has to ask for forgiveness, but also gets excited for little things too. Sure, most real girls don’t solve a new mystery every month, but still! There are 40 books in the series, but there are also a Young Mandie series and a Mandie: Her College Days series. I haven’t read all of those yet, but I’m excited to.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s