Why You Should Store Your Farts in a Jar & and other oddball or gross maladies, afflictions, remedies, and “cures”

-David Haviland-

 

Is it true that some people wake up during surgery? What was unusual about Dr. James Barry? Can people grow horns? Where in the human body is the soul found? Was the “Father of Jogging” killed by jogging? Why are doctors in old paintings often holding up a flask? Over 200 strange, useless, or disgusting facts.

 

It is true, most of the facts in this book are quite useless, but it was still an enjoyable read. I know a lot more about medical history and useless cures now that I probably won’t ever need again in my life. It wasn’t a quick read, but it was one that I could pick up between classes or on the bus ride home if I only had a couple of minutes, because it wasn’t a continuing story and I didn’t have to remember what I had read last time to continue.

Leave a Reply

