A Midsummer Night’s Dream

-William Shakespeare-

A Midsummer Night’s Dream starts with Hermia being in love with Lysander, but her father is forcing her to marry Demetrius, whom Hermia’s friend Helena is in love with. It’s a confusing start to the play and it only get more confusing. So Hermia and Lysander run away to the forest. Helena, hoping to gain Demetrius’s love, tells him of the plan, and follows him as he goes after the two lovers, hoping to win back Hermia’s love. In a parallel plot line, the king of the fairies,  Oberon, is mad at Titania, the queen, because she refuses to give him the Indian changeling she has. Seeing the lovers throughout the forest, Oberon calls his faithful servant, Robin “Puck” Goodfellow to use a special juice from a flower called “love-in-idleness”. Meanwhile, Peter Quince and his fellow “players” Nick Bottom, Francis Flute, Robin Starveling, Tom Snout, and Snug plan to put on a play about Pyramus and Thisbe for Duke Theseus’ wedding to the Amazon queen, Hippolyta. When fairies get involved, everything goes wild.
This is my favourite of Shakespeare’s comedies. I first went to see the play when I was about four and it has been my favourite since. I think Shakespeare’s plays are better to watch being performed rather than read, but they’re not a bad read either once you get the hang of the language. My favourite part is the play that Peter Quince and the others put on, it’s hilarious, or anything that involves Puck; he is by far my favourite character. The hardest part for me when reading Shakespeare is keeping the characters straight. It is still a good play to read, and re-read. And it’s especially fun to read if you’re not reading it for school. I find I don’t like books I’m supposed to read for school, but if I read them ahead of time, I enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

