The Prince of Neither Here nor There

-Sean Cullen-

 

Despite his extra pimply face, braces and extreme clumsiness, Brendan has always believed he was a pretty normal guy. He has no reason to believe otherwise. That is, until strange things start to happen, he starts hearing voices and oddly enough, having conversations with animals and the animals are talking back. He starts to worry that he is going crazy. One night, after going to a particularly odd concert, Brendan has a dream that a creature eats the scar that he has had since before he could remember. The next morning, he finds out that the scar is gone. Then he learns the truth; he is a Faerie. No, not a fairy, like the ones in fairy tales, a Faerie, the the race living alongside humans, even though we, humans, choose to ignore all the facts. Brendan also learns that he was disguised as a human to protect him, and an evil Faerie, who is trying to take over the human race, is after him. Something special that was given to him as a child has gone missing, and he needs it to keep himself safe. Brendan needs to choose who to trust and who not to.

 

I loved the book. Cullen had a very interesting way of combining comedy and a semi-relatable story. My favourite parts were the footnotes. To be honest, some of them had me laughing out loud. I enjoyed the storyline too. I don’t usually pick up books on fairies (or faeries), but I read the back and thought, why not give it a try. I’m glad I did. I’ve already recommended it to a few friends, and I’ll definitely recommend it to you. If not for the story, then for sure for the footnotes.

 

Author: Sean Cullen

Sean Cullen is a Canadian voice actor and a stand-up comedian. He is best known for his voice acting in Best Ed, Seven Little Monsters and Almost Naked Animals. He is also known for his unique way of combining improvisation with mimicry and music. He brings his talent as a comedian out in the footnotes and the voice of the narrator. My favourite footnote in the book is: 

Do not take your cat’s advice in business dealing. I speak from experience. My cat was my investment manager for three years. I now own over seventy thousand squeaky mice and an acre of swamp in Siberia.

Leave a Reply

